Author Topic: Error on game start  (Read 4104 times)

Jimmy43

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Error on game start
« on: December 09, 2012, 04:59:55 PM »
Hi, I have installed the game through desura and when I try to run it I get an error that says "TimelapseVertigo.Game has stopped working" every time.
What can I do to fix this?  Thanks

Styg

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 920
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Error on game start
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2012, 05:48:29 PM »
Hi,

When does the game crash exactly? As soon as you run it?

Try checking if you have media player installed on your system.

Sashh

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Error on game start
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2012, 10:48:18 PM »
I get the same error as soon as I start the demo of alpha. I have mpc and k-lite codec pack installed.

Styg

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 920
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Error on game start
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2012, 01:24:01 PM »
You have to have Media Player installed as Windows Feature (classic won't do).

Let me know if that helped you guys.

Sashh

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Error on game start
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2012, 04:44:42 PM »
Works now, let the testing commence :)

Jimmy43

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Error on game start
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2012, 10:54:32 PM »
Yup that fixed it, thanks!

Aaronovik

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Error on game start
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2012, 01:54:54 AM »
i have this problem on the demo too and I'm fairly certain media player is installed as a feature but just in case can someone help me and tell me how to make it a feature just in case i am wrong.

Styg

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 920
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Error on game start
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2012, 03:35:14 AM »
i have this problem on the demo too and I'm fairly certain media player is installed as a feature but just in case can someone help me and tell me how to make it a feature just in case i am wrong.

Try running the game as admin explicitly. Let me know if that helped.

Aaronovik

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Error on game start
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2013, 12:50:17 AM »
ah that worked thank you didnt quite understand what you meant but figured it out :)

Drz

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Error on game start
« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2013, 12:06:56 AM »
You have to have Media Player installed as Windows Feature (classic won't do).

Let me know if that helped you guys.

Very sorry for necro-ing this thread, but just spent about an hour and a half to get this to work.
If any other PC-gaming microsoftophobe turned off windows media player during installation, apparently you can easily get it back in by going to the
Control Panel, then Programs, then Programs and Features and finally by clicking on "Turn Windows Features on or off".
There you go to Media Features where you can turn WMP on again.

TA-DAH!

Would have hated myself to have to ask, but couldn't resist posting the "solution" in the forum.

Also... Hi, I'm new!
Hopes: so skyhigh I bought without testing (too lazy to fix the above issue for the demo alone)
First New Game, here I come!